Fashion Weeks: Still Important?

3 Mar

This week marks the end of Paris Fashion Week for Autumn/Winter 2013, which was the last of the most popular Fashion Week cites i.e. New York, London and Milan.  As a fashion blogger I followed these quite closely, eager to see what was likely to become ‘the next big thing’ within the fashion world.  But I began to wonder is fashion week enjoyed by everyone, do blog readers want to see post about Fashion Week on their favourite blogs or would the rather just see what their favourite blogger is wearing?

Fashion Weeks used to be exclusive to those who worked within fashion but now with such advances in social media anyone can find out what is happening at Fashion Week just by searching the internet.  Some of the shows are now streamed online for people to watch, such as the Topshop show at London Fashion week. Does this mean that Fashion week is losing its exclusivity?  Some think that it is and the designer Tom Ford events are usually invite only as he didn’t want people to become weary of seeing his collection in almost every fashion magazine and online.  This year at London fashion week he held a larger event and I think it will be interesting to see how this affects his brand, whether it gains him more popularity as more people are now aware of him or whether people will become disinterested in his designs due to being so widely publicised.

The lovely Jessica from Copper Garden answered some questions about her thoughts on Fashion Weeks;

  • Do you enjoy reading blog posts about fashion week or do you prefer seeing outfit post by other bloggers?

    Yes I do enjoy posts about fashion week, I think as a whole though. I really like the street style aspect so you can see other peoples take on fashion away from the catwalk which I suppose links with the actual outfit post from that specific blogger too (its just a more high street take on the catwalk I think!). As far as the actual shows are concerned, I find them fascinating. I enjoy seeing the clothes, the models and the atmosphere – every show is so unique even though the trends are going to be relatively the same or very similar. 

  • Do you think that fashion weeks are losing their exclusivity due to it being so easily accessible?  And do you think that being more accessible to everyone is a good thing?

    I hate to admit it, but I really do. I think that fashion week isn’t so ‘exclusive’ as the world and its wife seem to be getting invited. I definitely think its a huge thing to be invited and bloggers are a quicker way to access everyone because they’re such a popular platform but at the same time I do kind of wish it was back how it used to be and only celebs, etc were invited.. or like only a few bloggers. Kind of biting myself in the foot as I would love to go myself but I really think it was much better beforehand. 

  • Do you follow the trends that happen at fashion weeks or do you prefer to take outfit inspiration from other bloggers or would you say you have your own unique style?

    I have to keep up with the latest trends being a fashion student anyway so I don’t really know what I’d do if I wasn’t one! I suppose I do look a lot to the trends to see what sort of things I could add to or customize in my wardrobe. Other bloggers do inspire me too quite a lot actually! If I’ve brought a top or something, I always google search a blogger thats done an outfit post wearing it or similar.. that way I can maybe find outfits I wouldn’t of put together myself but that work really well. I have found in the past too, that items of clothing I’d not of brought, I see on a blogger and end up buying just because they wore it so well and it appealed to me!

I can see the appeal of Fashion Week for bloggers but I’m not sure it appeals to the majority of the public, I asked quite a few people what they thought of fashion week and many didn’t hold any opinions on it at all.  I think that fashion week helps provide inspiration and obviously all the shops on the high-street create similar items a few months later which the majority of people will buy. In turn this leads to certain items becoming the next must have thing, but I believe that most people will buy what other people are wearing rather than following the Fashion Weeks trends.

Let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

