DIY – Sea Salt Spray

15 Jul

So I found the basis of this recipe on the US Glamour magazine website, however I’ve changed parts of it.

Anyway after seeing so many mixed reviews of salt sprays people had bought from shops I decided I’d try and make my own.  After all I didn’t really want to spend a lot of money on something which might not work well when I could try it for free first.

Ingredients 

  • 400mls of hot water
  • Sea salt (I use 2 table spoons)
  • Hair oil (I use Hask Argan oil)
  • Conditioner (just a little spot, the thinner it is the easier it will dissolve)
  1. Boil kettle and place 400mls into a jug along with the sea salt.  I find that the salt dissolves easiest in boiling water.  I have thick hair so I use 2 table spoons, you may wish to add less if your hair is thinner.
  2. I leave it to cool so it’s lukewarm then add in a spot of hair oil and just a little bit of conditioner.  If the conditioner is quite thick then it may not dissolve fully, but I wouldn’t worry about it too much.
  3. Once cool enough transfer into a spray bottle. And that’s it!

I really couldn’t believe how easy this was to make and how well it works.  I find that it works best on damp hair, so just spray after washing hair then scrunch it up.  You can then lightly blow dry or let it dry naturally.

So here is the finished result using the sea salt spray,

DIY Salt Spray

I think I should have scrunched it more as my hair doesn’t seem to be as wavy as it usually is with the salt spray.

Hope you liked my post, let me know what you think 🙂

Have you made your own salt spray before, or tried shop bought ones?

2 Responses to “DIY – Sea Salt Spray”

  1. Kayleigh Parker July 15, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    I have been looking curiously at salt sprays around the shops for a while now. Worried that they’ll just be a waste of money, I’ve left my hair unsalted (now I’m thinking about crisps..).
    Thanks for the tip – I will definitely look into making it as it looks pretty simple! xx

    • sheslookingatthestars July 16, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

      I was like that too; I didn’t want to waste money on something that didn’t work/I didn’t really like. It’s so easy to make, I really couldn’t believe it when I found the ‘recipe’ for it 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

