Lipcote Lipstick Sealer

1 Dec

Why didn’t I try this sooner?  I had seen this numerous times but was never really sure it would work and although I’m not a huge fan of constantly having to reapply lipstick it doesn’t bother me overly much.  I saw this and thought, why don’t I give it ago, to see if it means that I can wear lipstick to uni and not have to reapply it during the day.  Before using it I had a look on some other blogs for reviews and found them to be a little mixed; some felt that it was the best thing ever and other said that it stung so much when they applied it that they couldn’t use it.  This didn’t put me off, so here is how I got on…

Lipcote

Lipcote

The Lipcote Lipstick Sealer comes in a small bottle with a little brush attached to the lid, a little like a bottle of nail varnish. This one that I have has a vanilla scent however it also comes in unscented.  I don’t find the vanilla scent too strong and this disappears after you apply it.  On the back of the box there are some instructions, with also mention that if you think that you might have sensitive skin then you should try it on the back of your hand.  I tried this first after reading some of the reviews but it was fine, I felt nothing.

lipcote

lipcote

The box say that you should apply lipstick, then blot, then apply some more lipstick and blot once more.  I decided to try it first with a lipstick that I knew only lasts about 4 hours before needing to be topped up.  So I followed the previous instructions and then applied Lipcote all over the lips.  You only need a thin layer and it recommends that you keep your lips slightly apart while you wait for it to dry.  I did find that it had a tingling sensation when first applied but this went away after a few seconds.

I decided to take the lipstick with me just in case, but I really didn’t need to.  This made the lipstick that usually needs topped up after 4 hours and that can wear off slightly patchy last all day at uni.  This was through drinking and eating and drinking after which I checked and it was fine.  I didn’t bother checking it again until after uni and it was still perfect. Overall it lasted about 9 hours, 2 meals and numerous drinks before I felt that it might need a little bit of a top up.  I really couldn’t believe how well it made my lipstick stay on.  If you were going on a night out and don’t want to have to worry about your lipstick then you definitely need this!

This cost me £3 in Primark, and it says that you should be able to get about 100 applications out of it which I feel is well worth the money.  I have used it a few time with different lipsticks, and it works so well with them all.

Have you tried Lipcote, what did you think if it?  Is it something that you would think of trying or would you miss reapplying you lipstick throughout the day?

Leave a Reply

